Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

The Society of Authors Awards

The Winners are announced in June | Guidelines and Submissions | 2002

Cholmondeley Awards for Poets

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards

The Cholmondeley Awards

The Encore Awards

The Eric Gregory Awards

The McKitterick Prize

The Richard Imison Memorial Award

The Sagittarius Prize

The Somerset Maugham Awards

Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award

The Traveling Scholarships

Thomas Sterns Eliot Reads.  Spoken Word Digital Audio Available for Download now at

Hear The Caedmon Collection of English Poetry

The Eric Gregory Awards  Established by the late Eric Gregory, are for the encouragement of promising British poets under the age of 30 and living in the UK. In 1999 21,000 was distributed on the strength of work submitted and taking into account the means of each winner.

2002 Three awards of 5,000 each: Caroline Bird, Christopher James, Jacob Polley

Two awards of 3,000 each: Luke Heeley, Judith Lal

Three awards of 1,000 each: David L. Briggs, Eleanor Rees, Kathryn Simmonds

2001 Leontia Flynn, Thomas Warner, Tishani Doshi, Patrick MacKie Excerpts from the Memoirs of a Fool  Hardcover | Paperback, Kathryn Gray, Sally Read

2000 Eleanor Margolies, Antony Rowland, Antony Dunn  Pilots and Navigators*, Karen Goodwin, Clare Pollard The Heavy-Petting Zoo*

The McKitterick Prize  Endowed by the late Tom McKitterick. It is given for a first adult novel in English, published in the UK or unpublished, by an author over the age of 40.  4,000

2002  Manil Suri, 4,000 for The Death of Vishnu | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Available for Audio Download  McKitterick Prize 2002 This is a beautiful book!

2001  Giles Waterfield for The Long Afternoon

2000  Chris Dolan for Ascension Day*

The Sagittarius Prize  Awarded for a first novel in English, published in the UK, by an author over the age of 60. 2,000

2002 Zvi Jagendorf, 2,000 for Wolfy and the Strudelbakers

2001 Michael Richardson for The Pig Bin

2000 David Crackanthorpe - Stolen Marches | Paperback

The Somerset Maugham Awards  Founded by the late Somerset Maugham to enable British authors under the age of 35 to enrich their writing by foreign travel. They are given on the strength of a book published in the UK. 12,000

2002 Two awards of 6,000 each are given to:

  • Charlotte Hobson for Black Earth City

  • Marcel Theroux for The Paperchase

2001 Edward Platt for Leadville

Ben Rice for Pobby And Dingan | Hardcover | e-book (Microsoft) | e-book (Adobe)

2000 Bella Bathurst for The Lighthouse Stevensons*

The Traveling Scholarships

Annual awards made to enable British writers to keep in touch with colleagues abroad. They are non-competitive and submissions are not accepted. 6,000

2002 Three awards of 2,000 each are given to:

  • Frank Kuppner

  • David Park

  • George Szirtes.

2001 Alan Judd, author

Christina Koning, author

Tessa Ransford, poet

Maurice Riordan, poet

2000 Robert Edric longlisted for the Booker Prize 2002

Georgina Hammick

Walter Perrie

Grace Ingoldby

The Richard Imison Memorial Award  For the best dramatic work broadcast by a writer new to radio. 1,000

2002 Rhiannon Tise wins 2,000 for The Waltzer

2001 Murray Gold for Electricity

2000 Peter Morgan for A Matter of Interpretation

The Encore Awards  Sponsored by Miss Lucy Astor, is a prize for second novels in English and first published in the UK.

2000 Claire Messud for The Last Life* 2,500

John Burnside for The Mercy Boys 2,500

Matt Thorne for Eight Minutes Idle  2,500

Phil Whitaker for Triangulation* 2,500

Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award

2000 Sarah Waters for Affinity | Hardcover | Paperback Winner 2001 American Library Association GLBT Award

Please, report site problems or errors to J. M. McElligott Thank you

Application forms are available from the Society for each prize requiring books to be submitted. All awards for published books are for books first published in the UK, and not published elsewhere. For further information on any of the grants or awards please contact Dorothy Sym at the Society.

Society of Authors

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners