Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Society of Authors Awards

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are given for first novels by authors under the age of 35. Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for novels written in a romantic or traditional, but not experimental, style. The judges decide how to divide the prize money between the Prize and Award winners. The money must be used for foreign travel.

Betty Trask Prize

Hari Kunzru wins £8,000 for The Impressionist  | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette

Betty Trask Awards

Rachel Seiffert for The Dark Room | Hardcover | Paperback £5,000

Shamim Sarif  for World Unseen | Paperback

Helen Cross for My Summer of Love | Out of Print Book

Chloe Hooper for A Child’s Book of True Crime; shortlisted for the Orange Prize 2002 | Hardcover | Paperback

Susanna Jones for The Earthquake Bird CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger for the best crime novel of 2001 | Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print

Gwendoline Riley for Cold Water | Hardcover

2001 Winners

Zadie Smith for White Teeth | Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print | Audio Cassette | e-Book | Audiobook for Download In 2000, Zadie Smith's first novel, White Teeth, won eight major literary awards. List of Awards

Justin Hill for The Drink and Dream Teahouse

Maggie O’Farrell for After You’d Gone

Vivien Kelly for Take One Young Man

Mohsin Hamid for Moth Smoke

Patrick Neate for Musungu Jim and the Great Chief Tuloko

The Cholmondeley Awards

The Cholmondeley Awards for Poets were founded by the late Dowager Marchioness of Cholmondeley in 1966 to recognize the achievement and distinction of individual poets. The recipients are chosen for their general body of work and contribution to poetry.

The Eric Gregory Awards

The Eric Gregory Awards were founded in 1960 by the late Dr Eric Gregory for the encouragement of young poets. Awards are given on the basis of a submitted collection by poets under the age of 30, and offer valuable public recognition to poets at the beginning of their careers.

Three awards of £5,000 each: Caroline Bird for her first collection, Looking Through Letterboxes: Poems | Paperback

Christopher James for his first collection, The Sound of Fish

Jacob Polley for the Ivory-Skinned Woman

Two awards of £3,000 each: Luke Heeley, Judith Lal.

Three awards of £1,000 each: David L. Briggs, Eleanor Rees, Kathryn Simmonds

Society of Authors Awards 2002

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners