Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Betty Trask Prize

For Updates Visit

Betty Trask Prize, Betty Trask Awards

Founded by the late Betty Trask for first novels in English (published in the UK or unpublished) by Commonwealth citizens under the age of 35. They are for works of a romantic or traditional, but not experimental, nature.  The amount of £25,000 is awarded in total. The Betty Trask Prizes and Awards are announced at the Society of Authors awards in London.

Betty Trask Prize for a first novel by an author under 35 2001 | 2000

2002 The Impressionist by Hari Kunzru, age 33, has won the Betty Trask Prize, worth £8,000 Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette

2001 Zadie Smith, age 25, has won her seventh major award, worth  £6,000, for her debut novel, White Teeth. In the year 2000, Zadie Smith won eight major literary awards for her first novel, White Teeth. List of Awards

White Teeth by Zadie Smith Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print | Audio Cassette | e-book Adobe Reader Download | Audio Book | eBook Microsoft

2000 The Season Ticket by Jonathan Tulloch Out of Print

Betty Trask Awards 2001 | 2000

2002 Rachel Seiffert, wins £5,000 for The Dark Room

Shamim Sarif  for World Unseen | Paperback

Helen Cross for My Summer of Love | Out of Print Book

Chloe Hooper for A Child’s Book of True Crime; shortlisted for the Orange Prize 2002 | Hardcover | Paperback

Susanna Jones for The Earthquake Bird CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger for the best crime novel of 2001 | Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print

Gwendoline Riley for Cold Water | Hardcover

2001 Justin Hill for The Drink and Dream Teahouse | Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print

Maggie O'Farrell for After You'd Gone | Hardcover | Paperback

Vivien Kelly for Take One Young Man | Out of Print Book

Mohsin Hamid for Moth Smoke | Paperback

Patrick Neate for Musungu Jim and the Great Chief Tuloko (Twelve Bar Blues) | Hardcover

2000 Julia Leigh for The Hunter | Hardcover | Paperback

Susan Elderkinfor Sunset Over Chocolate Mountains | Paperback

Galaxy Craze for By the Shore | Paperback

Nicholas Griffin for The Requiem Shark | Paperback

Betty Trask Prizes and Awards submission guidelines

Betty Trask Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners