Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

The Cholmondeley Awards

The Society of Authors presents the Cholmondeley Awards for Poetry. The Winners are announced in June

For Updates Visit

Cholmondeley Awards for Poets

The Cholmondeley Awards for Poets  Given to four poets, the awards (£8,000 in 1999) were endowed by the late Dowager Marchioness of Cholmondeley in 1966. They are made on the strength of a poet's body of work and submissions are not accepted.

Thomas Sterns Eliot Reads.  Spoken Word Digital Audio Available for Download now at

Hear The Caedmon Collection of English Poetry

2002 Four awards of £2,000 each:

Moniza Alvi for Souls | Paperback

David Constantine for Something for the Ghosts | Paperback

Liz Lochhead for Perfect Days | Paperback

Brian Patten for The Blue and Green Ark: An Alphabet for Planet Earth | Out of Print

2001 Ian Duhig for Mersey Goldfish | Paperback

Paul Durcan for Greetings to Our Friends in Brazil : One Hundred Poems | Hardcover

Kathleen Jamie for Autonomous Regions | Paperback

Grace Nichols for Asana and the Animals: A Book of Pet Poems | Out of Print

2000 Michael Hamburger Collected Poems 1947-1994 | Paperback

Adrian Henri: Collected Poems, 1967-85 | Out of Print

Carole Satyamurti Love and Variations | Paperback

Alistair Elliot My Country: Collected Poems | Out of Print

Moniza Alvi

Moniza Alvi was born in Pakistan in 1954 and grew up in Hertfordshire. She studied at the Universities of York and London. After a long career as a school teacher, she now lives in London with her husband and young daughter. She is currently a tutor for The Open College of the Arts and The Poetry School. She has published four collections of poetry: The Country At My Shoulder (OUP, 1993), A Bowl of Warm Air (OUP, 1996), Carrying My Wife (Bloodaxe, 2000), and Souls (Bloodaxe, 2002). Previous awards include the Poetry Business Prize, and The Country at My Shoulder was shortlisted for the T. S.. Eliot and Whitbread Poetry Prizes. She is now working on a series of poem-myths inspired by the Just So Stories called How.

David Constantine

David Constantine was born in 1944 in Salford and studied at Oxford University. He is now a Fellow of Queen’s College, Oxford. His first published poetry collection was A Brightness to Cast Shadows (Bloodaxe, 1980), followed by Watching for Dolphins (Bloodaxe, 1983) which won the 1984 Alice Hunt Bartlett Prize. His third collection, Madder (Bloodaxe, 1987) won the Southern Arts Literature Prize. He has also published fiction, a biography of Sir William Hamilton (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2001), and translations of poetry and prose by German, French and Greek writers. His most recent publication is Something for the Ghosts (Bloodaxe, 2002), and he is working on translations of Brecht’s Antigone for publication by Methuen, and Goethe’s Faust for publication by Penguin.

Liz Lochhead

Liz Lochhead is a poet and playwright living in Glasgow. She was educated at Glasgow School of Art and has published many books of poems and play scripts. Her first collection was Memo For Spring, followed by The Grimm Sisters, Dreaming Frankenstein, and Bagpipe Muzak. Her original theatre plays and adaptations include Blood and Ice, Mary Queen of Scots Got Her Head Chopped Off and Medea which won the Saltire Award for Scottish Book of the Year 2001. She has honorary doctorates from the Universities of Aberdeen, Glasgow, Strathclyde, Stirling, Edinburgh and Dundee, and is a Fellow of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. She is currently working on a new collection, Black and White Poems.

Brian Patten

Brian Patten was born in Liverpool in 1946. As well as publishing numerous books of poetry for both children and adults, he has written for radio, stage and television, and his work has been translated and published in many languages. He received the Freedom of the City of Liverpool in 2001. He has previously received an Eric Gregory Award, an Arts Council of England Award, Mystery Writers of America Edgar Allen Poe Award, and an Honorary Fellowship of John Moores University. His works include, for adults, Little Johnny’s Confession, The Mersey Sound (with Adrian Henri and Roger McGough), Grave Gossip, Storm Damage and Armada, and for children, Mr. Moon’s Last Cast, Thawing Frozen Frogs and The Story Giant (HarperCollins, 2001). His work in progress is A Sweet-shop on the Corner of Baggot Street.

Please, report site problems or errors to J. M. McElligott Thank you

Application forms are available from the Society for each prize requiring books to be submitted. All awards for published books are for books first published in the UK, and not published elsewhere. For further information on any of the grants or awards please contact Dorothy Sym at the Society.

Cholmondeley Awards for Poets

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners