Dagger Awards for Fiction

Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit Literature-Awards.com

The Dagger Awards

The Crime Writers Association's Dagger Awards are considered the leading awards for literary crime fiction in the UK.

Winners | Gold | Silver | Cartier (Diamond; Lifetime Achievement) | The Creasey Dagger (First Time Novelist) | The CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger | The Debut Dagger (Unpublished Writers Award)

Black House

The CWA's top award for fiction was founded in 1955 as the Crossed Red Herring Award and in 1960 became the CWA Gold Dagger for fiction. In 1969 a runner-up prize was instituted, the CWA Silver Dagger for fiction. Since 1995, the awards have been sponsored by The Macallan Distillery and renamed The Macallan Gold and Silver Daggers.

Get Audio Mysteries for Download at Audible.com, the leading provider of spoken audio on the web. Choose any mystery for only $1.95.

The Macallan Daggers Awards are sponsored by The Macallan Single Malt Scotch Whisky, and are managed by the Crime Writers' Association, originators of The Daggers. Previous winners of the awards have included Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Janet Evanovich, and Lady Antonia Fraser. The awards are sponsored by The Macallan Single Malt Scotch Whisky, and are managed by the Crime Writers' Association, originators of The Daggers.

The Macallan Gold Dagger Awards for Fiction 3000

2002 Jose Carlos Samoza for The Athenian Murders | Hardcover

2001 Henning Mankell for Sidetracked: A Kurt Wallander Mystery | Hardcover | Paperback

The Macallan Silver Dagger Awards for Fiction 2000

2002 James Crumley for The Final Country | Hardcover | Paperback

2001 Giles Blunt for Forty Words for Sorrow | Audio Cassette (Abridged) | Audio Cassette (Unabridged)

The Creasey Dagger Awards for First Time Novelists

2002 Louise Welsh for her novel The Cutting Room | Hardcover

2001 Susanna Jones for The Earthquake Bird | Hardcover

The CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger 3,000

2002 Sarah Waters for her book Fingersmith | Hardcover | Paperback

2001 Andrew Taylor for The Office Of The Dead | Hardcover

Cartier Diamond Daggers for Lifetime Achievement

For this coveted award the committee of the Crime Writers' Association selects writers who meet two essential criteria. First, their careers must be marked by sustained excellence, and second, they must have made a significant contribution to crime fiction published in the English language, whether originally or in translation. The award is made purely on merit without reference to age, gender or nationality.

2003 Robert Barnard. The Diamond Dagger will be presented to Robert Barnard at the British Museum on 7 May, 2003: 1960 Death of an Old Goat was his first crime novel. Authored Touched by The Dead | Audio Cassette, Masters of the House (Isis Series) | Audio Cassette and Bad Samaritan | Audio Cassette, among numerous other works. In book form click here, Out of Print

2002 Sara Paretsky

2001 Lionel Davidson Three time Gold Dagger winner: 1960 The Night of Wenceslas; 1966 A Long Way to Shiloh; 1978 The Chelsea Murders. Lionel Davidson's books can be purchased here | Out of Print

2000 Peter Lovesey

The Debut Dagger for Unpublished Writers

2002 Ilona van Mil for Sugarmilk Falls

2001 Edward Wright for Clea's Moon | Hardcover

The Crime Writers Association Website

Dagger Awards


e-scooters.com The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards

Visit Literature-Awards.com

All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners