Nobel Prize Links

Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Nobel Prize Links

Nobel Prize for Literature Laureates

Imre Kertesz, of Hungary, has been awarded The Nobel Prize for Literature 2002

Nobel Prize

Alfred Nobel

Nobel Prize Winners English Language

Nobel Trivia

How The Nobel Winners Are Chosen

2001 V. S. Naipul, Great Britain (born in Trinidad 1932) | Works  English

About the Nobel Prize in Literature

Books About The Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize Lectures Available in Print

Samuel Joseph Agnon: Biography  Nobel Lecture

2000 Gao Xingjian China, Drama and Prose (1940-) Language: Chinese  Nobel Lecture Works in Translation

1999 Gunter Grass Germany, Fiction (1927-) Language: German Nobel Lecture  The Works of Gunter Grass

1998 Jose Saramago Portugal, Fiction (1922-)  Language: Portuguese Nobel Lecture  The Works of Saramago

1997 Dario Fo Italy, Drama (1926-) Language: Italian Nobel Lecture  The Works of Dario Fo

1995 Seamus Heaney Northern Ireland, Poetry (1939-)  Language: EnglishNobel LecturePoetry by Heaney

1993 Toni Morrison (pseudonym of Chloe Wofford) United States, Fiction (1931-) Language: English  Nobel Lecture Works of Toni Morrison

1992 Derek Walcott St Lucia, Poetry and Drama (1930-) Language: English  Nobel Lecture Works by Derek Walcott

1991 Nadine Gordimer South Africa, Fiction (1923-) Language: English Nobel LectureThe Works of Gordimer

1986 Wole Soyinka Nigeria, Fiction and Drama (1934-) Language: English Nobel LectureWorks of Wole Soyinka

1983 William Golding Britain, Fiction (1911-1993) Language: English Biography | Nobel Lecture | List of Works

1984 Jaroslav Seifert Czechoslovakia, Poetry (1901-1986) Language: Czechoslovakian Nobel Lecture  Works of Seifert Translated

1979 Odysseus Elytis (Odysseus Alepoudhelis) Greece, Poetry (1911-1996) Language: Greek Nobel Lecture  Works in Translation

1976 Saul Bellow USA, Fiction (1915-) Language: EnglishNobel LectureWorks

1974 Eyvind Johnson Sweden, Fiction (1900-1976) Language: Swedish (shared award) Works of Eyvind Johnson

1974 Harry Edmund Martinson Sweden, Fiction and Poetry (1904-1978) Language: Swedish (shared award)  The Writings of Harry Martinson

1973 Patrick White Australia, Fiction (1912-1990) Language:  EnglishAutobiographyPress ReleaseBibliography

1969 Samuel Beckett Ireland, Fiction (1906-1989) Language: EnglishBiographyNobel Prize Presentation - Press ReleaseBibliography

1963 Giorgios Seferis (pseudonym Giorgos Seferiadis) Greece, Poetry (1900-1971) Language: Greek  Nobel Lecture The works of Seferis are Out of Print Find them Here

1962 John Steinbeck United States, Fiction (1902-1968) Language: EnglishNobel Acceptance Speech  |  John Steinbeck Novels and Short Stories | Biography

1954 Ernest Miller Hemingway United States, Fiction (1899-1961) Language: EnglishNobel Acceptance SpeechBibliographyPrize PresentationBiography

1950 Bertrand Russell Great Britain, Philosophy (1899-1961) Language: EnglishNobel Acceptance SpeechBibliographyPrize PresentationBiographyRussell's Paradox

1949 William Faulkner United States, Fiction (1897-1962) Language: English | Two time winner of both the National Book Award and The Pulitzer Prize for Literature and, also, chosen as a  Nobel Laureate.  He has had the honor of an award, The PEN/Faulkner, being named for him.  Nobel Acceptance Speech | Works by Faulkner

1948 T. S. Eliot (Thomas Stearns Eliot) United States-Britain, Poetry (1888-1965) Language: English | Nobel Lecture Literature 1948 | Works by T S Eliot | Biography

1938 Pearl S. Buck (pseudonym  Pearl Walsh née Sydenstricker) United States, Fiction (1892-1973) Language: EnglishNobel LectureAcceptance SpeechPearl S Buck Works | Biography

The Swedish Academy

The Official Web Site of The Nobel Foundation

The Nobel Prize

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners