Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Nobel Literature Laureates

English Language

There have been twenty-one laureates who wrote in the English language. Note: There are three United States Literature Laureates who did not write in the English language

Nobel Prize for Literature | About the Nobel PrizeHow the Nobel Laureates are ChosenNobel LinksNobel Prize Trivia

Laureate Year Country Genre
V. S. Naipaul 2001 Britain Fiction
Seamus Heaney 1995 Ireland Poetry
Toni Morrison 1993 United States Fiction
Derek Walcott 1992 St Lucia Poetry
Nadine Gordimer 1991 South Africa Fiction
Wole Soyinka 1986 Nigeria Drama
William Golding 1983 Great Britain Fiction
Saul Bellow 1976 United States Fiction
Patrick White 1973 Australia Fiction
Samuel Beckett 1969 Ireland Fiction
John Steinbeck 1962 United States Fiction
Ernest Hemingway 1954 United States Fiction
Winston Churchill 1953 Great Britain History
Bertrand Russell 1950 Great Britain Philosophy
William Faulkner 1949 United States Fiction
T. S. Eliot 1948 Great Britain Poetry
Pearl Buck 1938 United States Fiction
Eugene O'Neill 1936 United States Drama
John Galsworthy 1932 Great Britain Fiction
Sinclair Lewis 1930 United States Fiction
George Bernard Shaw 1925 Ireland Drama
William Butler Yeats 1923 Irish Free State Poetry
Rudyard Kipling 1907 Great Britain Fiction

Note: There are three United States Literature Laureates who did not write in the English language.

Isaac Bashevis Singer 1978 Fiction, works in Yiddish

Czeslaw Milosz 1980 Poetry, Polish language works

Joseph Brodsky 1987 Poetry, Russian language works

Nobel Prize for Literature Laureates 1901 - 2001

Nobel Laureates English Language

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners