Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

WHSmith Literary Awards

The WHSmith Literary Awards have been in existence since 1959. This award celebrates the most outstanding contributions to literature by a Commonwealth or UK citizen. This British prize does not have an age limit for the author. Entries are allowed from any subject or genre. The award is presented in April. The current cash prize is £10,000.

2002 Ian McEwan for Atonement | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Large Print | e-book Microsoft Reader | e-book Adobe Reader

Past Winners

WHSmith 1 Ashville Way, Cowley, Oxford 0X4 6TS

2002 Shortlist | Past Winners

Ian McEwan for Atonement | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Large Print | e-book Microsoft Reader | e-book Adobe Reader

P. D. James Death in Holy Orders | Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print | Audio Cassette

Winfried Georg Sebald for Austerlitz | Hardcover | Paperback | e-book Microsoft | e-book Adobe

Niall Griffiths Sheepshaggers (I would think the title would ensure that Griffiths will not win - in my not so humble opinion)

Francis Cottam Firefighter: A Novel of War


2001 Philip Roth for The Human Stain | HardcoverPaperback | Audio CassetteAudio Book Download The Human Stain won the PEN/Faulkner in 2001. Roth also won the PEN/Faulkner in 1994 for Operation Shylock | Paperback | Audio Download1998 Pulitzer Prize winner for American Pastoral | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audiobook   Goodbye, Columbus  won the National Book Award in 1960 | VHS | Hardcover | Paperback | Audiobook Download

2000 Melvyn Bragg The Soldier's Return | Hardcover

Zadie Smith:The 2000 WHSmith Award for New Talent. In 2000, Zadie Smith's first novel, White Teeth, won eight major literary awards. List of Awards

1999 Beryl Bainbridge Master Georgie | Hardcover | Paperback | Large Print

1998 Ted Hughes Tales from Ovid | Paperback 1997 Whitbread Book of the Year

1997 Orlando Figes A People's Tragedy

1996 Simon Schama Landscape and Memory

1995 Alice Munro Open Secrets | Hardcover | Paperback

1994 Vikram Seth A Suitable Boy

1993 Michèle Roberts Daughters of  the House

1992 Thomas Pakenham The Scramble for Africa

1991 Derek Walcott Nobel Prize for Literature 1992, for Omeros | Hardcover | Paperback

1990 V S Pritchett A Careless Widow and Other Stories

1989 Christopher Hill A Turbulent, Seditious and Factious People - John Bunyan and His Church

1988 Robert Hughes The Fatal Shore

1987 Elizabeth Jennings Collected Poems 1953 - 1985

1986 Doris Lessing The Good Terrorist

1985 David Hughes The Pork Butcher

1984 Philip Larkin Required Writing

1983 A N Wilson Wise Virgin

1982 George Clare Last Waltz in Vienna

1981 Isabel Colegate The Shooting Party

1980 Thom Gunn Selected Poems | Out of Print Find it Here

1979 Mark Girouard Life in the English Country House

1978 Patrick Leigh Fermor A Time of Gifts

1977 Ronald Lewin Slim: The Standardbearer

1976 Seamus Heaney Nobel Prize for Literature 1995, North

1975 Jon Stallworthy Wilfred Owen

1974 Anthony Powell Temporary Kings

1973 Brian Moore Catholics

1972 Kathleen Raine The Lost Country

1971 Nan Fairbrother New Lives, New Landscapes

1970 The French Lieutenant's Woman John Fowles | DVD | VHS | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audio CD | Audiobook Download

1969 Robert Gittings John Keats

1968 V S Naipul Nobel Prizewinner 2001, for Mimic Men | Paperback

1967 Jean Rhys Wide Sargasso Sea | Out of Print Find it Here

1966 R C Hutchinson A Child Possessed | Out of Print Find it Here

1965 Leonard Woolf Beginning Again | Out of Print Find it Here

1964 Ernst H Gombrich Meditations on a Hobby-Horse

1963 Gabriel Fielding The Birthday King

1962 J. R. Ackerley We Think the World of You

1961 Nadine Gordimer, Nobel Prizewinner 1991, for Friday's Footprint | Out of Print Find it Here

1960 Laurie Lee Cider with Rosie | Out of Print Find it Here

1959 Patrick White, Nobel Prizewinner 1973, for Voss | Out of Print Find it Here

WHSmith website

WHSmith Literary Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners