Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Scottish Book Trust

The Fidler Award

Conditions of Entry

Entries should be from writers who have not had books previously published for children.

Manuscripts should be written in English, but may be submitted from all over the world.

Entries should be in the form of a novel suitable for children aged 8-12 years.

Manuscripts should be between 25,000 and 28,000 words.

Manuscripts should be typewritten, double-spaced, on one side of the paper only.

Entries should include the author's real name, address and daytime telephone number, and should be accompanied by a UK sterling check for 5, payable to Scottish Book Trust, to cover administration
costs plus a stamped addressed padded bag if return of manuscript is required. Receipt of entries will not be acknowledged.

All entries should be sent to:

The Fidler Award, Scottish Book Trust

 The Scottish Book Centre

137 Dundee Street 

Edinburgh EH11 IBG 

Each entry must be received by 31st December each year.

Hodder Children's Books undertakes publication at terms agreed between themselves and the winning author. A 1000 advance is payable on signature of the contract for the winning title and royalties of 7.5% recommended retail price will be payable on home sales of the book and 6% net receipts on export and book club sales of the book.

Hodder Children's Books reserves the right not to award the Fidler Award, should none of the entries be deemed suitable.

A shortlist will be drawn up by April and short listed authors will be notified by Scottish Book Trust. The final winner will be announced at the beginning of June. Non-short listed material will be returned by the end of May.

The Fidler Awards

Scottish Book Trust

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners