Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

The Pura Belpre Awards

The Pura Belpre Awards, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA) and the National Association to Promote Library Services to the Spanish Speaking (REFORMA), an ALA Affiliate. Winners | 2002

Pura Belpre Awards

The award is named after Pura Belpre, the first Latina librarian from the New York Public Library. As a children's librarian, storyteller, and author, she enriched the lives of Puerto Rican children in the U.S.A. through her pioneering work of preserving and disseminating Puerto Rican folklore.

The Pura Belpre Awards are given biennially Spanish Language Books

2002 Pura Belpre Medal Winners

Narrative: Pam Muñoz Ryan for Esperanza Rising | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette

Illustration: Susan Guevara for Chato and the Party Animals, written by Gary Soto | Hardcover

2000 Pura Belpre Medal Winners

Narrative: Under the Royal Palms: A Childhood in Cuba Alma Flor Ada

Illustration: Magic Windows Ventanas magicas Carmen Lomas Garza  (bilingual)

1998 Pura Belpre Medal Winners

Narrative: Parrot in the Oven: Mi Vida Victor Martinez 

Illustration: Snapshots from the Wedding* Stephanie Garcia   Written by Gary Soto

1996 Pura Belpre Medal Winners

Narrative: An Island Like You: Stories of the Barrio* Judith Ortiz Cofer

Illustration: Chato Y Su Cena* Spanish Edition  Chato's Kitchen English by Susan Guevara , written by Gary Soto

reprinted from ©American Library Association

Pura Belpre Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners