Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association

PNBA 2002 Winners

The Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association has presented annual awards, since 1965, to recognize excellence in writing from the Pacific Northwest. Rather than soliciting nominations for specific categories, we simply require that the author and/or illustrator reside within the five-state PNBA region (Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Montana, and Idaho), and that the book be published within the current calendar year. In addition, nominations may be submitted for special awards honoring efforts in publishing, illustration or for a body of work. Special awards are determined at the discretion of PNBA's Awards Committee.

Pacific Northwest Book Awards

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Committee is made up of booksellers representing all five states. A new committee is formed each January and the winners are picked by the committee in mid-November. DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS EACH YEAR IS OCTOBER 1ST. If the nominated book will not be published until after the deadline, galleys/reading copies should be sent to the committee. The PNBA office should be contacted for a list of the current year's committee chair and members.

The authors of each winning PNBA Book Award title will receive $1000.00, to be presented at a ceremony at PNBA's Spring Trade Show in mid-March. The awards are heavily publicized, and PNBA member bookstores are encouraged to feature and promote the winning titles. PNBA will distribute, free to our member stores, large full-color posters advertising the Awards, shelf-talkers for each title, bookmarks showing the winning books and offer a $50 display allowance to any store doing an in store display of the winning titles. This promotional attention results in substantially increased store sales.

Northwest booksellers are encouraged to make nominations. Publishers are requested to send a copy of each nominated book to each of the current committee members. A list of the current Awards Committee members is available from the Awards Committee Chair. When submitting nominations, include the Nominated Title; the Author; the Publisher's Name, Address and Contact information. Send this information to: Awards Committee Chair Elizabeth Hamilton, Portland State Bookstore, 1880 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97201. Nominations may be faxed to: (503) 725-3800 or e-mailed to Questions about the awards may be addressed to Ms Hamilton at: (503) 226-2631.

Reprinted from

2002 Pacific Northwest Book Awards

Himalayan Dhaba by Craig Joseph Danner | Hardcover

Standing Up to the Rock by Louise Freeman-Toole | Hardcover | Paperback

True Believer by Virginia Euwer Wolff | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Large Print

Whale Talk by Chris Crutcher | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette

Where Do I Sleep? by Jennifer Blomgren | Hardcover

2001 Pacific Northwest Book Awards

How All This Started Pete Fromm | Hardcover | Paperback

Winter Range Claire Davis | Hardcover | Paperback

The Heartsong of Charging Elk James Welch | Hardcover | Paperback

John Riley's Daughter Kezi Matthews | Hardcover

The Ghost Openings Sheryl Noethe | Paperback

Ursula K. Le Guin, author of The Telling | Hardcover | Paperback Nebula Science Fiction Award winner 1990, 1974, 1969

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners