National Outdoor Book Awards

Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

The National Outdoor Book Awards

National Outdoor Book Awards NOBAs

The National Outdoor Book Awards honors the best in outdoor writing and publishing.  Winners for the current year's awards are announced in November.

Winners 2002

2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997

Outdoor Literature: Rowing to Latitude by Jill Fredston | Hardcover | Paperback

History/Biography: Gifford Pinchot and the Making of Modern Environmentalism by Char Miller | Hardcover

Design and Artistic Merit: Wilder Mississippi Photos by Stephen Kirkpatrick; text by Marlo Carter Kirkpatrick | Hardcover

Nature and the Environment: Down to Earth: Nature's Role in American History by Ted Steinberg | Hardcover | Paperback

Children's Books: Wild Wings: Poems for Young People by Jane Yolen | Hardcover

Guidebook: Lichens of North America by Irwin M Brodo, Sylvia Sharnoff, Steven Sharnoff, Canadian Museum of Nature | Hardcover a huge 828 pages of beautiful photography

Adventure Guidebook: Hiking the Sierra Nevada by John Mock, Kimberley O'Neil | Paperback

Instructional: The Complete Sea Kayakers Handbook by Shelley Johnson | Paperback

Classic: Backwoods Ethics by Laura and Guy Waterman | Paperback

The National Outdoor Book Awards (NOBAs) is the outdoor world's largest and most prestigious book award program.  It is a non-profit, educational program, sponsored by the Association of Outdoor Recreation and Education, and Idaho State University. 

The purpose of the Awards is to recognize and encourage outstanding writing and publishing.  Each fall in early November, the NOBA committee announces the winners of the 9 categories making up the program, including History, Literature, Children, Nature, Instructional, Adventure Guidebook, Nature Guidebook, Design, and Outdoor Classic. 

The winners are chosen by a panel of judges consisting of educators, book reviewers, outdoor columnists and authors from throughout the country.  Once selected, the books are publicized through wire service stories, press releases, and announcements at related websites.

For members of the media, they have included a press informational page with the latest press releases and high resolution scans of winning books.  Publishers and authors will also find application forms, entry rules, and information on how to nominate books for the annual awards.

More information about the Awards program is available from Ron Watters, P. O.  Box 8128, Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID 83209.

The National Outdoor Book Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners