National Book Critics Circle Awards

Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

National Book Critics Circle Awards

The National Book Critics Circle Awards Nominees and Winners for the year 2002, the winners are announced in March of the year following publication. Past Winners

National Book Critics Circle Awards NBCC Awards

The National Book Critics Circle consists of more than 700 book reviewers.  The NBCC was founded in 1974. Since 1981, the NBCC's centerpiece has been annual awards for the best book in five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography - autobiography, poetry, and criticism.  In addition, each year the NBCC awards the Ivan Sandrof Award for Contribution to American Arts and Letters and salutes one member of the Circle with the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing.

Members of the NBCC select the awards winners. Regular voting membership ($40 a year) is open to professional book review editors and book reviewers. How to join


Winner 2002 Winfried Georg Sebald for Austerlitz | Hardcover | Paperback | e-book Microsoft | e-book Adobe

Jonathan Franzen The Corrections | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audio CD | Adobe e-book | Microsoft e-book | Audio Book   National Book Award

Alice Munro for Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage: Stories | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audio CD 1998 Giller Prize, 1995 Lannan Award winner

Ann Patchett, author of Bel Canto | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audio CD | Large Print | eBook Microsoft Reader | Winner of the PEN/Faulkner 2002 The Orange Prize for Fiction Shortlist 2002

Colson Whitehead, John Henry Days | Hardcover


Winner 2002 Nicholson Baker, Double Fold: Libraries and the Assault on Paper | Hardcover | Paperback

Nina Bernstein, The Lost Children of Wilder: The Epic Struggle to Change Foster Care | Hardcover | Paperback

Jan T. Gross, Neighbors: The Destruction of the Jewish Community in Jedwabne, Poland | Hardcover

Seabiscuit: An American Legend by Laura Hillenbrand | Hardcover | Hardcover large print | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audiobooks

Sam Roberts, The Brother: The Untold Story of Atomic Spy David Greenglass and How He Sent His Sister, Ethel Rosenberg, to the Electric Chair | Hardcover


Winner 2002 Nicholson Baker for Double Fold: Libraries and the Assault on Paper | Hardcover | Paperback

Barry Werth for The Scarlet Professor: Newton Arvin, A Literary Life Shattered by Scandal | Hardcover | Paperback, winner 2002 GLBT Award

Paula Fox for Borrowed Finery: A Memoir | Hardcover 1974 Newbery Medal for The Slave Dancer | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Lesson Plans on CD | Study Guides

David Hajdu for Positively 4th Street: The Lives and Times of Joan Baez, Bob Dylan, Mimi Baez Farina and Richard Farina | Hardcover | Paperback

Katherine Clark for Milking the Moon: A Southerner's Story of Life on This Planet | Hardcover | Paperback

Poetry Award

Winner 2002 Albert Goldbarth for Saving Lives: Poems | Hardcover | Paperback

Louise Gluck for The Seven Ages | Hardcover | Paperback

Bob Hicok for Animal Soul | Hardcover

Jane Hirshfield for Given Sugar, Given Salt | Hardcover | Paperback

Czeslaw Milosz for A Treatise on Poetry | Hardcover

Criticism Award

Winner 2002 Martin Amis for The War Against Cliché: Essays and Reviews, 1971-2000 | Hardcover | Paperback

H.J. Jackson for Marginalia: Readers Writing in Books | Hardcover

W. D. Snodgrass for De/Compositions:101 Good Poems Gone Wrong | Paperback

Rebecca Solnit for As Eve Said to the Serpent: On Landscape, Gender, and Art | Hardcover

Joy Williams for Ill Nature: Rants and Reflections on Humanity and Other Animals | Hardcover

NBCC Awards Nominees

National Book Critics Circle Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners