Lambda Literary Awards

Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Lambda Literary Awards

Presenters of the Lambda Literary Awards, The Lambda Literary Foundation is a non-profit organization supporting gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender literature. The Lambda Literary Foundation publishes the Lambda Book Report, a monthly book review journal, and The James White Review, a gay menís literary quarterly. The Lambda Literary Foundation also sponsors the Lambda Literary Festival, a GLBT writers conference. Contact info Awards are for works published in the previous year. For example, the announcements in 2002 are for the 2001 Lambda Awards.

2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 |  1990 | 1989 | 1988

Living Out: Gay and Lesbian Autobiographies

gay, lesbian, bisexual transgender literature

2001 Lambda Literary Awards Winners (announced in 2002)

Biography: Barry Werth for The Scarlet Professor: Newton Arvin, A Literary Life Shattered by Scandal | Hardcover | Paperback | ALA GLBT Award for Non-fiction 2002

Autobiography/Memoir: Andrew Solomon for Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audio CD | Winner of  the 2001 National Book Award

Lesbian Fiction: Achy Obejas for Days of Awe | Hardcover | Paperback | Hardcover Large Print

Gay Fiction: Allan Gurganus for The Practical Heart: Four Novellas | Hardcover | Paperback

Lesbian Poetry: Adrienne Cecile Rich for Fox: Poems 1998 - 2000 | Hardcover | Paperback

Gay Poetry: Mark Doty for The Source | Hardcover | Paperback

Lesbian Mystery: Ellen Hart for Merchant of Venus | Hardcover | Paperback

Gay Men's Mystery: Michael Nava for Rag and Bone | Hardcover | Paperback

Fiction Anthology: Editor Helen Sandler for Diva Book of Short Stories | Paperback

Non-Fiction Anthology: Editor Delroy Constantine-Simms for The Greatest Taboo | Paperback

Humor: David Rakoff for Fraud | Paperback | Hardcover | Audio CD | Audiobook Download

Horror/Science Fiction/Fantasy: Lisa A Barnett and Melissa Scott for Point of Dreams | Hardcover | Paperback

Spirituality/Religion A Tie

Ken Stone, editor for Queer Commentary and the Hebrew Bible | Hardcover | Paperback

Bernard Duncan Mayes for Escaping God's Closet | Hardcover

Photography/Visual Arts: David Deitcher for Dear Friends: American Photographs of Men Together 1840 - 1918 | Hardcover

Children/Young Adult: Julia Watts for Finding H. F. | Paperback

Small Press: Mariana Romo-Carmona for Conversaciones! | Paperback

Erotica Ian Philips for See Dick Deconstruct | Paperback

Bisexuality / Transgender: Virginia Ramey Mollenkott for Omnigender | Hardcover

Romance: Sylvia Brownrigg for Pages for You | Hardcover | Paperback | Microsoft ebook | Adobe ebook

LGBT Studies: Joyce Murdoch & Deb Price for Courting Justice: Gay Men and Lesbians v. the Supreme Court | Hardcover | Paperback

Publisher Service Award: University of Wisconsin Press
ďLiving OutĒ Series | Living Out: Gay and Lesbian Autobiographies

Lambda Literary Foundation Bridge Builders Award: Margaret Cho for Iím the One That I Want | Hardcover | Paperback | Audio Cassette | Audio CD | Audiobook Download

Editorsí Choice Award: Alexander Chee for Edinburgh | Hardcover | Paperback

Lambda Literary Foundation Pioneer Award The Astraea Lesbian Action Foundation

For more information about the Foundation, the Awards or the Festival, contact: Lambda Literary Foundation, PO Box 73910, Washington, DC 20056-3910, phone (202) 682-0952, or visit them online at The Lambda Literary Foundation

Lambda Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners