Fidler Awards

Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Fidler Awards

For an unpublished first novel for children aged between 8 and 12 years

Sponsored by Hodder Children's Books,  Administered by the Scottish Book Trust This Award Has Been Ended

Fidler Awards

Winners of The Fidler Awards | History of The Fidler Awards

The Fidler Awards are unique in that the winning manuscript is guaranteed publication, offering aspiring writers the opportunity to see their first novel in print. Would-be authors are invited to submit manuscripts for novels for children aged 8 - 12 years. A panel of judges, comprised of members of Scottish Book Trust, who administer the Award, editors from Hodder Children's Books and a number of independent children's book experts, select the winner, which is then published after the full editorial process. The winner also receives an advance of 1000, plus a royalty package, and is presented with a rosewood and silver trophy, to be held for one year.

Winners of the Fidler Awards

2002 This Award Has Been Ended

2001 Patricia Elliott The Ice Boy | Out of Print

2000 Gill Vickery The Ivy Crown | Out of Print

1999 Thomas Bloor The Memory Prisoner | Hardcover

1998 No Award Given

1997 Mark Leyland Slate Mountain | Paperback

1996 John Smirthwaite The Falcon's Quest | Out of Print

1993 Mij Kelly 48 Hours with Franklin | Out of Print

1987 Theresa Breslin Whispers in the Graveyard | Out of Print   which  went on to win the CarnegieBreslin also shortlisted for the 1994 Children's Book Award with her novel, Kezzie | Out of Print

1985 Caroline Pitcher Diamond | Out of Print

1984 Elizabeth Lutzeier No Shelter | Out of Print

1983 Allan Baillie Adrift | Hardcover | Paperback

History of the Fidler Award

Kathleen Fidler was the author of over eighty books for children, many of which were broadcast on BBC Radio Children's Hour and Schools programs.  She had a long-standing affection for Scotland and, over the years, worked closely with the Edinburgh Children's Book Group. After her death in 1980, the members of that group, together with her publishers, Blackie and Son Limited, and Mary Baxter, then Chief Executive of the National Book League (Scotland), established The Kathleen Fidler Award as a memorial to her deep interest in children and writers. In 1996, Hodder Children's Books took over the sponsorship of the award and the name was changed to The Fidler Award.

Hodder Children's Books reserves the right not to award the Fidler Award, should none of the entries be deemed suitable.

A shortlist will be drawn up by April and short listed authors will be notified by Scottish Book Trust. The final winner will be announced at the beginning of June.

The Fidler Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners