Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

Coretta Scott King Awards

Honoring African-American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults Winners 1970 - 2002 | About the awards | Black Caucus Awards

For Updates Visit

Coretta Scott King Awards 2002

coretta king awards

Mildred D. Taylor, author of The Land | Hardcover | Audio cassette

Jerry Pinkney, for Illustration, Goin' Someplace Special | Hardcover

Jerome Lagarrigue was recognized with the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award for Freedom Summer | Hardcover

The Coretta Scott King Awards are administered by the Coretta Scott King Task Force of the ALA's Social Responsibilities Round Table.

The Coretta Scott King Awards commemorate the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and honors his widow, Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination in continuing the work for peace and world brotherhood. Winners of the Coretta Scott King Awards receive a framed citation, an honorarium, and a set of Encyclopedia Britannica or World Book Encyclopedias.

Coretta Scott King Awards winners are chosen by a seven-member national award jury. The CSK Award Jury also chooses The Coretta Scott King New Talent Award winners. These books affirm new talent and offer visibility to excellence in writing or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published book creator.

Copyright 2000, American Library Association.

Coretta Scott King Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners