Book Awards A - Z
Nobel Prize
The Pulitzer Prize
Awards by Category
Authors A - Z
Author Biographies
Books on Film
Study Guides
Writers Resources

 For Updates Visit

The ALA Awards

For Updates Visit


Caldecott Medal

Coretta Scott King Awards

Margaret A. Edwards Award

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

Michael L. Printz Award

Mildred L. Batchelder Award

Newbery Medal

The Pura Belpre Awards

Robert F. Sibert Book Award

The Stonewall Awards

The above awards winners are announced during the annual ALA Midwinter Meeting.  The ALA 2003 midwinter conference will be held in Philadelphia, PA from January 24-29, 2003, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Philadelphia Hotel Specials

ALA Awards

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

2003: Ursula K. Le Guin, distinguished writer of science fiction and fantasy for young people and adults, will deliver the 2004 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture

Nebula Science Fiction Awards 1990, 1974, 1969

Hugo Science Fiction Awards 1975,1970

2002: Maurice Sendak. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak was awarded the Caldecott Medal in 1964 DVD | VHS | Hardcover | Paperback The illustrations of Maurice Sendak won the Hans Christian Andersen Award in 1970. The Art of Maurice Sendak | Hardcover Sendak has illustrated nearly 100 books.

Maurice Sendak, Where the Wild Things Are | Hardcover | Paperback | Wild Things Imagination Catcher Journal, which won the Randolph Caldecott Medal in 1964, should be on every child's bookshelf and  The Art of Maurice Sendak | Hardcover, on every adult's.

Margaret A. Edwards Award, honoring lifetime contribution in writing for young adults

2003: Nancy Garden, author of Annie on My Mind | Hardcover | Paperback

2002: Paul Zindel, author of The Pigman (1968) | Hardcover | Paperback, The Pigman's Legacy (1984) | Paperback, The Pigman & Me (1993) | Paperback, My Darling, My Hamburger (1969) | Paperback, and The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds: A Drama in Two Acts (1971) | Hardcover | Paperback

Mildred L. Batchelder Awards

For the most outstanding children's book originally published in a foreign language and subsequently translated into English

2003 The Thief Lord translated by Oliver Latsch | Hardcover | Audio Cassette, originally published in Germany in 2000, the book was written by Cornelia Funke

2002 How I Became an American | Hardcover, translated by James Skofield. Originally published in Germany in 2000,  the book was written by Karin GŁndisch.

Children's Literature Awards and Winners: A Directory of Prizes, Authors and Illustrators Dolores Blythe Jones | Hardcover

A Caldecott Celebration : Six Artists Share Their Paths to the Caldecott Medal | Hardcover

The Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books Annual Edition Paperback

ALA Awards

Newsletter The 'e' is for everything


Rare and Out of Print Books

Amazon USA

Amazon UK

Amazon Canada

Literature Awards


All Literature Awards site contents are copyrighted © 2003 by J M McElligott and may not be published in any form. We take domain name, title, and copyright infringement seriously

Literature Awards

Book Awards Winners