Newbery Medals

Winners 1922 - 2003 | About the Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal 2003

Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi | Hardcover

Newbery Medal 2003 Honor Books

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer | Hardcover

Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff | Hardcover | Audio Cassette

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen | Hardcover | Audio Cassette | Microsoft e-book | Adobe e-book

A Corner of the Universe by Ann M. Martin | Hardcover | Audio Cassette

Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan | Hardcover

Newbery Medals Newbery Medal Honor Books

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), The John Newbery Medal honors the author of "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children".  The Association for Library Service to Children is a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

The Newbery Medal is named for John Newbery, an eighteenth century British Bookseller.  The ALSC also honors excellence in children's literature with  The Caldecott Medal and The Michael L. Printz Literary Award.  The awards winners are announced during the ALA midwinter conferences, held in January. (see literature awards calendar)

Island of the Blue Dolphins, Johnny Tremain, Belle Prater's Boy, Wrinkle in Time, Black Cauldron, Black Pearl, Watson's Go to Birmingham 1963, Lily's Crossing Newbery Boxed Set | Paperback

The Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books Annual Edition Paperback

Children's Literature Awards and Winners: A Directory of Prizes, Authors and Illustrators Dolores Blythe Jones | Hardcover

Newbery Medal